top of page

ABOUT

THE CREATOR

DER IN BERLIN GEBORENE CHRISTOPHER NOELLE (*1974) ALIAS TOFA BLICKT AUF EINE GESCHICHTE ZURÜCK, DIE WIE EINE WILDE ACHTERBAHN BIS DURCH DIE DECKE  GING.

MIT DEM BUCH „MULTIMORPHISM“ GIBT ER JETZT ENDLICH EINBLICKE IN UMWERFENDE PROJEKTE UND DEN CORSSMEDIALEN KERN SEINER ARBEIT AUS DEN LETZTEN 30 JAHREN.

CHROME-BG.jpg
CAPE-OF-GOOD-HOPE-BIKE-TRIAL-CHRIS-NOELLE.jpg

THE PAST

WÄHREND SEINER ZEIT ALS BIKE-TRIAL-PROFI WURDE CHRIS 1995 VIZE-WELTMEISTER, DOPPEL-TEAM-WELTMEISTER UND HATTE 1997 EINEN GUNIESS-BOOK-REKORD MIT EINEM 1-M-HOCHSPRING AUS DEM STAND AUF SEINEM MOUNTAINBIKE.

WÄHREND DIESER ZEIT UNTERNAHM ER GEMEINSAM MIT FOTOGRAFEN UND KAMERATEAMS ADVENTURE-TRIPS RUND UM DEN GLOBUS UND FING DAMIT AN, AUCH DIE ANDERE SEITE DER PRODUKTION ZU ERKUNDEN.

DIE SEITEN WECHSELN, UM ZUM KAMERAMANN, CUTTER, MOTION- UND SOUND-DESIGNER, FOTOGRAF, GRAFIK- UND MEDIENKÜNSTLER, STREET aART KÜNSTLER UND KREATIVES MASTERMIND ZU WERDEN – KURZ GESAGT, ALL DIESE ELEMENTE HABEN EINEN VISIONÄR AUF DEM GEBIET DER MULTIMEDIAKUNST AUS IHM GEMACHT.

Portrait_Chris_NOELLE-AKA-TOFA.jpg

THE VISIONARY

DAS ZWEITE HAUPTKAPITEL BEGANN 1996 MIT DER PRODUKTION ELEKTRONISCHER MUSIK. AUSGESTATTET MIT DRUMCOMPUTERN UND SYNTHESIZERN WUCHS SEINE LEIDENSCHAFT FÜR DIE  AUDIOVISUELLE KUNST.

 

FILMSCHNITT UND ANIMATIONEN FÜHRTEN ZUM VJING,  ZU MUSIKVIDEOS, ZU GRAFIK- UND MODE-DESIGN UND AUCH ZUR STREET ART. MAN KÖNNTE EINFACH SAGEN, EINE SACHE LÖSTE DIE NÄCHSTE AUS - EINE KLASSISCHE KETTENREAKTION.

SCHNELL WURDEN GRAFFITI-SKIZZEN UND KALLIGRAPHIE ZU EINEM FESTEN BESTANDTEIL SEINER ARBEIT UND ERWEITERTEN DEN ZUGANG ZU ILLUSTRATIONEN, TYPOGRAFISCHEN OBJEKTEN UND INSTALLATIONEN UND NATÜRLICH AUCH ZU  WEIT DARÜBER HINAUSGEHENDEN DINGE.

ZWÖLF KAPITEL ENTWIRREN DEN DSCHUNGEL SEINES  MULTIMEDIA-KUNSTUNIVERSUMS, DAS VON PROJEKTIONSKUNST ÜBER LIGHT PAINTING, KALLIGRAPHIE, GRAFIK, PENPLOTTERKUNST, SPIROGRAPHIE UND CLUBKULTUR BIS ZU CROSSMEDIALEN KI-KUNSTWERKEN REICHT.

 

DAS BUCH BIETET NICHT NUR INTERESSANTE EINBLICKE IN VERSCHIEDENE PROJEKTE, ES ENTHÄLT AUCH EINIGE HANDERLESENE DIY-TUTORIALS, DIE INSPIRIEREN UND DEN EIGENEN KREATIVEN WORKFLOW ANKURBELN.

HEUTE BLICKT CHRIS AUF MEHR ALS 30 JAHRE KONZEPTIONELLE MULTIMEDIALE KUNST ZURÜCK.

Portrait_3_Chris_NOELLE-AKA-TOFA.jpg
Multimorphism_Cover_2.jpg

MULTIMORPHISM

DAS BUCH KURZ VORGESTELLT

IN DIESEM RETROSPEKTIVEN 300-SEITIGEN BUCH SCHAFFT DIE GEGENSEITIGE BEZIEHUNG DER VERSCHIEDENEN MEDIALEN DISZIPLINEN, EINEN INTERESSANTEN UND INSPIRIERENDEN FOKUS AUF CROSSMEDIALE FORSCHUNG MIT EINEM AUSSERGEWÖHNLICHEN KÜNSTLERISCHEN ANSATZ.

​IN UNSERER DATENÜBERFLUTETEN ZEIT IST EIN SOLCH GENREÜBERGREIFENDER KÜNSTLERISCHER ANSATZ SCHWER ZU NACHVOLLZIEHBAR, ABER DENNOCH ÄUSSERST INTERESSANT, UM DIE EIGENE KREATIVITÄT ANZUREGEN UND NEUES ZU ENTDECKEN.

MULTIMORPHISM IST NICHT NUR EIN LOOKBOOK, SONDERN DIENT  ALS INSPIRATIONSQUELLE, DIE DIE KOMPLEXITÄT UND DIE  ZUSAMMENHÄNGE ZWISCHEN DER ANALOGEN UND DER DIGITALEN WELT EINDRUCKSVOLL UNTERMAUERT.

IN ZUSAMMENARBEIT MIT DEM GRAFIKDESIGNER LAURENZ HINTERMAYER, DER FÜR DIE KONZEPTIONELLE LAYOUTGESTALTUNG VERANTWORTLICH WAR, VERBINDET MULTIMORPHISM MIT DYNAMIK DIE ARBEIT AN  CROSSMEDIALEN KUNSTFORMEN.

ALLES WIRD MITEINANDER VERKNÜPFT UND FÄNGT AN ZU INTERAGIEREN, MAN MUSS NUR VERSTEHEN, WIE ALLES ZUSAMMENHÄNGT.

GANZ GLEICH, OB DU ENTHUSIAST, KREATIVER,  PRAKTIKER ODER EINFACH NUR EIN NEUGIERIGER BEOBACHTER BIST, DIESES BUCHIST DAZU GEMACHT, DEINE FANTASIE ZU BEFLÜGELN UND DEN HORIZONT DER SICH STÄNDIG WEITERENTWICKELNDEN ZEITGENÖSSISCHEN KUNST ZU BEREICHERN UND ZU ERWEITERN.

 

Portrait_Chris_NOELLE-AKA-TOFA.jpg

SUPPORTED BY

EIN GROSSES DANKE FÜR DIE UNTERSTÜTZUNG GEHT AN DIE LANDESREGIERUNG OBERÖSTERREICH FÜR DIE PROJEKTFÖRDERUNG 2023.

WEITERHIN MÖCHTE ICH ONUR ARSLAN FÜR SEINE HERVORRAGENDE ARBEIT ALS KAMERAMANN IM AUFTRAG DER MULTIMORPHISMUS-DOKUMENTARFILM PRODUKTION DANKEN, SOWIE LAURENZ HINTERMAYER FÜR SEINE FANTASTISCHEN FÄHIGKEITEN BEI DER LAYOUTGESTALTUNG VON MULTIMORPHISM.

oö-logo-silver.jpg
bottom of page

top of page

ABOUT

THE CREATOR

BERLIN BORN CHRISTOPHER NOELLE (*1974) AKA TOFA IS LOOKING BACK ON A STORY THAT WENT THREW THE ROOF LIKE A ROLLERCOASTER LONG BEFORE THE DIGITAL OVERKILL HAS STARTED.

WITH THE BOOK "MULTIMORPHISM" HE IS NOW REVEALING INSIGHTS INTO MINDBLOWING PROJECTS AND THE CORSSMEDIAL CORE OF HIS WORK FROM THE PAST 30 YEARS.

CHROME-BG.jpg
CAPE-OF-GOOD-HOPE-BIKE-TRIAL-CHRIS-NOELLE.jpg

THE PAST

DURING HIS EARLY BIKE-TRIALS PRO RIDING CAREER , CHRIS FINISHED AS VICE WORLD CHAMPION IN 1995, DOUBLE TEAM WORLD CHAMPION AND HAD A GUNIESS BOOK RECORD BACK IN 1997 WITH A 1M HIGHJUMP FROM STAND TO THE SIDE ON HIS MOUNTAINBIKE.

 

DURING THAT TIME HE WENT ON WORLDWIDE ADVENTURE TRIPS TOGETHER WITH PHOTOGRAPHERS AND CAMERA TEAMS AND BY THE TIME ALSO STARTED TO EXPLORE THE OTHER SIDE OF PRODUCTION. 

FLIPPING THE SIDES MEANT TO BECOME A CAMERAMAN, A CUTTER, A MOTION- AND SOUND-DESIGNER, A PHOTOGRAPHER, A GRAPHIC- AND VISUAL ARTIST, A STREET ART CREATOR AND CONCEPTUAL CREATIVE MASTERMIND - IN SHORT, ALL THESE ELEMENTS SHAPED A TRUE VISIONARY IN THE FIELD OF MULTIMEDIA ART.

Portrait_Chris_NOELLE-AKA-TOFA.jpg

THE VISIONARY

THE SECOND MAIN CHAPTER STARTED WITH ELECTRONIC MUSIC PRODUCTION BACK IN 1996. ARMED WITH DRUMCOMPUTERS AND SYNTHESIZERS, HIS PASSION FOR AUDIOVISUAL ART FOUND A VALVE.

FILMCUTTING AND ANIMATIONS LEAD TO VJING, MUSICVIDEOS GRAPHIC DESIGN AND STREET ART. YOU COULD SIMPLY SAY, ONE THING TRIGGERED THE NEXT.

MEANWHILE GRAFFITI SKETCHING AND CALLIGRAPHY BECAME A CONSTANT COMPONENT OF HIS WORKFLOW AND STARTED TO EXPANDED INTO ILLUSTRATIONS AND TYPOGRAPHIC INSTALLATIONS AND STUFF FAR BEYOND.

TEN MAIN CHAPTERS GUID THREW THE JUNGLE OF OURDAYS MULTIMEDIA ART UNIVERSE, RANGING FROM PROJECTION ART OVER LIGHT PAINTING, CALLIGRAPHY, GRAPHICS, PEN PLOTTER ART, SPIROGRAPHY, STREETART, PHOTOGRAPHY NIGHTLIFE AND CLUB CULTURE UP TO XR AI ARTWORKS.

THE SORTING OF THE ARCHIVES TOOK MORE THAN SIX MONTHS AND LEAD TO TEN CHAPTERS INCLUDING ELEVEN MEDIUMS, SHOWING SO MANY CONNECTED FACETS OF MULTIMEDIA ART, WHICH IS SOMETHING SPECIAL THAT IS HARD TO FIND OURDAYS.

THE BOOK GIVES NOT ONLY INTERESTING INSIGHTS INTO DIFFERENT PROJECTS, IT ALSO COMES WITH SOME AMAZING HANDSELECTED DIY TUTORIALS TO INSPIRE AND START YOUR OWN CREATIVE WORKFLOW RIGHT AWAY.

Portrait_3_Chris_NOELLE-AKA-TOFA.jpg
Multimorphism_Cover_2.jpg

MULTIMORPHISM

THE BOOK IN SHORT

IN THIS RETROSPECTIVE 300 PAGES BOOK, THE RECIPROCAL RELATIONSHIP OF ALL THE DIFFERENT MEDIAL DISCIPLINES THAT CHRIS DIVED INTO, CREATES AN INTERESTING AND INSPIRING FOCUS ON CROSSMEDIAL RESEARCH WITH AN OUTSTANDING ARTISTIC APPROACH.

IN OUR DATA-FLUFMED TIMES SUCH A CROSS-GENERAL ARTISTIC APPROACH IS DIFFICULT TO UNDERSTAND AND FOLLOW AND EVEN MORE DIFFICULT TO MAKE OUT A LIVING, BUT NEVERTHELESS THE INERDISCIPLINARY CONNECTIONS ARE HIGHLY INTERESTING TO TRIGGER AND (RE-)DISCOVER YOUR OWN CREATIVITY.

MULTIMORPHISM IS NOT ONLY A LOOK-BOOK, BUT ALSO CLAIMS TO BE A SOURCE OF INSPIRATION WHICH UNDERLINES THE COMPLEXITY AND RELATIONSHIP BETWEEN THE ANALOG AND THE DIGITAL WORLD.

THE CHAPTERS GUIDE YOU THREW THE JUNGLE OF OURDAYS MULTIMEDIAL OPTIONS, RANGING FROM PROJECTION ART OVER LIGHT PAINTING, CALLIGRAPHY, GRAPHICS, PENPLOTTER ART, SPIROGRAPHY,  CLUB CULTURE UP TO XR AI ARTWORK AND HANDSELECTED TUTORIALS ON SPECIAL THEMES LIKE MACRO LIGHT PAINTING OR POLAROID TRANSFERS.

 

IN COLLABORATION WITH GRAPHIC DESIGNER LAURENZ HINTERMAYER - WHO WAS IN CHARGE OF THE CONCEPTUAL LAYOUT - THIS ART BOOK IS CLOSING THE GAP OF THE DYNAMIC CONNECTIONS BETWEEN DIFFERENT MULTIMEDIA GENRES.

CHRIS IS FUSING THE DISCIPLINES TO INTERACTION AND SHOWS US RECIPROCAL INFLUENCES THAT ENCOURAGE TO GET CREATIVE.

WETHER YOU´RE AN ENTHUSIAST, A CREATIVE, A PRACTITIONER OR SIMPLY CURIOUS OBSERVER, THIS BOOK PROMISES TO IGNITE YOUR IMAGINATION AND EXPAND YOUR APPRECIATION FOR THE EVER-EVOLVING LANDSCAPE OF CONTEMPORARY XR ART.

Portrait_Chris_NOELLE-AKA-TOFA.jpg

SUPPORTED BY

THANKS FOR SUPPORT GO OUT TO THE PROJECTS FUNDING BY LANDESREGIERUNG OBERÖSTERREICH.

FURTHER ON I WOULD LIKE TO THANK ONUR ARSLAN FOR HIS OUTSTANDING WORK AS CAMERAMAN ON BEHALF OF THE MULTIMORPHISM DOCUMENTARY FILM PRODUCTION AS WELL AS LAURENZ HINTERMAYER FOR HIS EYECATCHING SKILLS ON THE LAYOUT DESIGN OF THE MULTIMORPHISM BOOK.

oö-logo-silver.jpg
bottom of page